Skip to content

30th-Anniversary ‘The Black Album’ Reissue

    Metallica, the American heavy metal band’s fifth studio album, is commonly referred to as ‘The Black Album’ and was released in 1991. A 30th-anniversary reissue will be put out in September including a mammoth 26-disc super deluxe edition box set.

    The box set contains over 24 hours of music via six pieces of vinyl (including a ‘Sad But True’ picture disc), six DVDs and 14 CDs. It includes a 120-page hardcover book and more. Here are the details:

    • 2 LP album remastered on 180G LP
    • 10” picture disc
    • Live at Wembley LP
    • 2 LP live at Moscow LP
    • 14 CDs (variety of unreleased/released demos, rough mixes, b-sides, covers, live shows)
    • 6 DVDs (variety of unreleased/released outtakes, live shows, BTS footage)
    • 120-page hardcover book (w/unreleased photos + stories)
    • Three magazine cover prints (we’re marketing as lithos)
    • Metallica lanyard
    • Four tour laminates
    • Folder with lyric sheets
    • Three guitar picks
    • Download card
    • Hinged box w/magnetic flap w/spot UV gloss of snake on the back and spot UV gloss of band name on the side

    In addition to the big box there will be a three-CD set (featuring the album, ‘demos & roughs’ and Wherever We May Roam, a 13-track compilation of live performances) and a 2LP vinyl package and a standalone CD, both of which offer album-only in terms of the audio.

    As if these album reissues weren’t enough, the band is also releasing The Metallica Blacklist – a 53-track covers album with over 53 artists trying their hand at their favorite song from The Black Album. The artists include St Vincent, Biffy Clyro, Weezer, The Neptunes, Phoebe Bridgers, Dave Gahan, Imelda May, and more. The Metallica Blacklist is a 7LP vinyl box set (die-cut jackets with a booklet in a library-style case & comes with a download card) or a 4CD set.

    The Black Album and The Metallica Blacklist will be released on 10 September 2021.

    Tony M.