Skip to content

Dolly Parton legitimate ROCKSTAR with her new “rock album”

    rockstar dolly parton

    Dolly Parton has revealed all the details about her long-promised “rock album,” titled “Rockstar,” including a 30-song track list, a November 17 release date and literally dozens of celebrity guests — including Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr joining her for a cover of the Beatles’ “Let It Be.”Brandi Carlile and Pink will be joining Parton on the Rolling Stones’ “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction,” while Emmylou Harris and Sheryl Crow will be her guests on a song most popularized by Linda Ronstadt, “You’re No Good.” The force of metal will be strong on the song “Bygones,” where Judas Priest’s Rob Halford and Motley Crue members Nikki Sixx and John 5 will join her crew. Lizzo and Sasha Flute will put some wind into her sails on Led Zeppelin’s “Stairway to Heaven,” even as Steven Tyler and Warren Haynes put their heads together with the Jackson 5 cover “I Want You Back.” And the aforementioned “Let It Be” won’t just include the two surviving Beatles; it’ll also feature turns from Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood.

    Roughly half the tracks have artists joining forces with Parton on songs they originated, like not just the ex-Beatles with “Let It Be” but Miley Cyrus with “Wrecking Ball,” Elton John with “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me,” Debbie Harry with Blondie’s “Heart of Glass,” Joan Jett with “I Hate Myself for Loving You,” Frampton with “Baby, I Love Your Way,” Ann Wilson with Heart’s “Magic Man,” Steve Perry with Journey’s “Open Arms,” Sting with the Police’s “Every Breath You Take,” Pat Benatar and Neil Giraldo with “Heartbreaker,” Kevin Cronin with REO Speedwagon’s “Keep on Loving You” and Linda Perry with 4 Non-Blondes’ “What’s Up?”

    Dolly Parton, ‘Rockstar’ Track Listing

    1. “Rockstar” (special guest Richie Sambora)
    2. “World on Fire”
    3. “Every Breath You Take” (Featuring Sting)
    4. “Open Arms” (Featuring Steve Perry)
    5. “Magic Man” (Featuring Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
    6. “Long As I Can See the Light” (Featuring John Fogerty)
    7. “Either Or” (Featuring Kid Rock)
    8. “I Want You Back” (Featuring Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
    9. “What Has Rock and Roll Ever Done for You” (Featuring Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
    10. “Purple Rain”
    11. “Baby, I Love Your Way” (Featuring Peter Frampton)
    12. “I Hate Myself for Loving You” (Featuring Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
    13. “Night Moves” (Featuring Chris Stapleton)
    14. “Wrecking Ball” (Featuring Miley Cyrus)
    15. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” (Featuring P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
    16. “Keep on Loving You” (Featuring Kevin Cronin)
    17. “Heart of Glass” (Featuring Debbie Harry)
    18. “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” (Featuring Elton John)
    19. “Tried to Rock and Roll Me” (Featuring Melissa Etheridge)
    20. “Stairway to Heaven” (Featuring Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
    21. “We Are the Champions”
    22. “Bygones” (Featuring Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
    23. “My Blue Tears” (Featuring Simon Le Bon)
    24. “What’s Up?” (Featuring Linda Perry)
    25. “You’re No Good” (Featuring Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
    26. “Heartbreaker” (Featuring Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
    27. “Bittersweet” (Featuring Michael McDonald)
    28. “I Dreamed About Elvis” (Featuring Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
    29. “Let It Be” (Featuring Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
    30. “Free Bird” (Featuring Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)