Skip to content

Meiko Kaji – Hajiki Uta – new Deluxe gatefold LP edition

    Meiko Kaji Hajiki Uta Deluxe Gatefold LP Edition with 2p Insert and OBI Black Vinyl

    I first discovered Meiko Kaji’s music through Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill movies and was intrigued to explore more of her work. Despite not understanding the Japanese lyrics, I found myself thoroughly enchanted by her music. I highly recommend giving it a listen as I am sure you will also fall in love with it.

    Wewantsounds is embarking on a comprehensive reissue project of Meiko Kaji’s initial five albums, which were originally released in Japan from 1972 to 1974 by Teichiku Records. This joint endeavor, in collaboration with Teichiku and Meiko Kaji herself, entails the release of her first five albums on vinyl, featuring their original Japanese artwork and with improved sound quality. This marks the first-ever vinyl release of these albums.

    Meiko Kaji gained fame in the early 1970s for her exploitation films like ‘Lady Snowblood’, the ‘Female Prisoner Scorpion’ and Stray Cat Rock series, which earned her the admiration of Tarantino. In addition to her acting career, she was also a talented singer who released albums that complemented her movies. These albums offer a captivating blend of Japanese Pop and Groove, accompanied by outstanding funky cinematic orchestrations, as exemplified in the song “Hajiki Uta”.

    This deluxe Gatefold sleeve LP reissues the album with its original artwork, including an OBI strip and a 2-p insert containing new liner notes by Hashim Kotaro Bharoocha, who has interviewed Meiko specifically for this occasion. The album features the theme song “Urami Bushi” from the Female Prisoner Scorpion series, which was famously used in Kill Bill Vol 2. Additionally, it includes “Onna No Jumon,” the theme song from the film “Female Prisoner Scorpion – Jailhouse 41.”

    – Reissue program of the early 70s albums by cult Japanese actress and Tarantino muse Meiko Kaji
    – First ever reissue since the original release
    – Original Gatefold Artwork, Obi and 2p Insert
    – Includes the song “Urami Bushi” (from “Female Prisoner Scorpion”) Featured in Kill Bill Vol. 2
    – New Liner Notes by Hachim Kotaro Bharoocha

    SIDE 1
    1. Meikono Futebushi
    2. Wara No Ue
    3. Onna somuki Uta
    4. Hizumi Moe
    5. Onna Kawaki Uta
    6. Onna Hagure Uta

    SIDE 2
    1. Hitori Kaze
    2. Onna No Jumon – from the “Female Prisoner Scorpion” Toei Film Series
    3. Betuni Doutte Koto Demo Naishi
    4. Nigori Onna
    5. Kanashiku Naikara Fushiawase
    6. Urami Bushi – from the « Female Prisoner Scorpion » Toei Film Series 

    Fun Fact: The song “Shura no Hana” featured in Quentin Tarantino’s “Kill Bill” movies reignited public interest in her music, prompting her to record and release new songs after a hiatus of almost three decades.

    Tony M.